National Organization

Jobs for America’s Graduates (JAG) is a private non-profit corporation chartered in Delaware in 1980 with tax-exemption as a 501(c)( 3) corporation by the Internal Revenue Service.  The first Chairman of the Board was Governor Pete du Pont and the President and Chief Executive Officer was Kenneth M. Smith who has led the national organization since 1980.  The JAG National Board of Directors is comprised of a cross-section of JAG stakeholders from elected state officials, government, corporations, community-based organizations, educational institutions, non-profit organizations, professional associations, and employers.  It is believed that JAG is unique among private non-profit corporations since current and former governors serve on the JAG Board of Directors.

The current chairman of the board is The Honorable Phil Bryant, Governor of Mississippi.  The Honorable Steve Bullock, Governor of Montana, The Honorable Jay Nixon, Governor of Missouri, and The Honorable Mike Pence, Governor of Indiana are the current Vice Chairs of the Board. The Chair of the Executive Committee is Thomas J. Tauke, Executive Vice President of Public Affairs, Policy and Communications, Verizon Communications.

The Chairs of the JAG Board of Directors since 1980 include:



The Honorable Pete du Pont, Governor of Delaware



The Honorable Charles S. Robb, Governor Virginia



The Honorable John R. McKernan, Jr., Governor of Maine



The Honorable George V. Voinovich, Governor of Ohio



The Honorable Marc Racicot, Governor of Montana



Julie Nixon Eisenhower, Author and Speaker



The Honorable Tom Vilsack, Governor of Iowa



The Honorable Janet Napolitano, Governor of Arizona



The Honorable John E. Baldacci, Governor of Maine



The Honorable Jack Markell, Governor of Delaware



The Honorable Phil Bryant, Governor of Mississippi