Congratulations 2019 Smith Scholars!

by | Apr 19, 2019 | Uncategorized | 0 comments

Twenty-five (25) JAG graduates were selected to receive a $1,000 scholarship and, more importantly, they will be able to use the designation as having been vetted and recognized as a 2019 Smith Scholar.  This high honor should be included in your resume or when applications request a listing of awards, scholarships, or recognitions.  Only 25 JAG graduates in the Class of 2019 will be able to use the Smith Scholar designation.

This year six additional scholars were chosen for the special Carolyn Warner Scholarship. This scholarship was awarded in memory of the great Carolyn Warner who devoted her time and passion for Jobs for America’s Graduates.

The Kenneth M. Smith Scholarship Fund and the Smith Scholars Program were established by the JAG Board of Directors to recognize the extraordinary leadership and service of the first and only President and Chief Executive Officer of Jobs for America’s Graduates, Inc., Kenneth M. Smith.  The number of scholarships awarded annually is dependent on the donations to the Ken Smith Scholarship Fund.  Funding for the KMS Scholarship Fund has come from JAG Board members as well as Western Union Foundation, Lillian Goldman Trust, Strategic Partnerships and CERI.  From 2009-2018, the Fund has awarded 179 scholarships for a total of $211,000.

2019 Kenneth M. Smith Application Packet Submissions

172 JAG seniors submitted Kenneth M. Smith Scholarship Application Packets on February 25 which consisted of the following documents:

  • Application Form
  • Resume (2 Pages)
  • Essay (2 Pages)
  • High School Transcript
  • Proof of College Application or Acceptance
  • Three Reference Letters
  • High Resolution Photo


The number one career field was Health.

2019 Review and Selection Process:

  • 2019 proved to be one of the most difficult years to review the 172 application packets, assign points, then, make the decision as to which applicants moved forward to be among the Top 40 Applicants.
  • Board members were responsible for reviewing the Top 40 Application Packets and selecting the Top 31 Applicants.
  • Two additional board members reviewed the Top 31 Application Packets and ultimately selected the final twenty-five (25) Smith Scholars and six (6) Warner Scholars.
  • 2019 Smith and Warner Scholars will receive a letter of congratulations from JAG Governance Committee Chairman Larry Caruso with information regarding receipt of their $1,000 scholarship.  The letter will also outline responsibilities that Smith Scholars are expected to fulfill during their 2019-2020 collegiate enrollment.  This commitment is very important to maintain and expand the Smith Scholars Program.
  • The Kenneth M. Scholarship Fund appreciates the 172 applicants that submitted documentation for 2019.  Remember—JAG graduates that have not completed their postsecondary degree plans are eligible to apply for a KMS Scholarship as well as high school seniors that are planning to enroll in the fall following graduation.


The 2019 Smith Scholars receiving a $1,000 scholarship are:

  1. Katie Anderson – Marion, VA
  2. Jazmyn Applebaum-Lopez – Scottsdale, AZ
  3. Reyes Calabaza – Santo Domingo Pueblo, NM
  4. Victoria Clendening – Little Rock, AR
  5. Mary Couvillion – Lecompte, LA
  6. Cheyenne Cox – Terre Haute, IN
  7. Brason Dobson – New Albany, IN
  8. Grace Dodson – Monticello, IN
  9. Caleb Duke – Sheridan, IN
  10. Amy Gloeckner – Caliente, NV
  11. Madison Dana Greenlaw – Eastport, ME
  12. Marleni Grijalva – Perry, IA
  13. Matthew Hartzell – Rogersville, AL
  14. Brena Hicks – Little Rock, AR
  15. Tiffany Horton – Dawsonville, GA
  16. Damon Irvin – Shelby, MT
  17. Brieannah Johnson – Oberlin, OH
  18. Josie King – Golden, MS
  19. Kendall Logan – Star City, AR
  20. Madison Lutman – Little Rock, AR
  21. Ro Mar – Akron, OH
  22. Yaritzi Sicairos – Tolleson, AZ
  23. De’Maya Thompson – Marks, MS
  24. Kania Turner – West, MS
  25. Paige Willms – Orland, IN


The 2019 Warner Scholars receiving a $1,000 scholarship are:

  1. Emily Austin – Caribou, ME
  2. Caragan Haney – Caribou, ME
  3. Matthew Mors – Palatka, FL
  4. Aneissa Olson – Wagner, SD
  5. Kaylin Smith – St. Louis, MO
  6. Katelyn West – Star City, AR