Jobs for America’s Graduates announces 2021 National Leadership Award winners

by | Dec 3, 2021 | Uncategorized | 0 comments

Jobs for America’s Graduates (JAG) has announced the winners of the 2021 National Leadership Award, with Governor Roy Cooper walking away with the coveted title of National Government Leader of the Year. The much-anticipated annual awards recognize JAG leaders that demonstrate excellence in leadership and service to the JAG program. The annual awards event that took place today (Thursday, 2 December) virtually.

The National Leadership Award program showcases stories that show how our partners differentiate themselves, achieve tremendous results, and adapt to dynamic needs throughout the organization.

“The National Leadership Awards represent the best and most forward-thinking leaders coming out of our amazing partner community here at JAG. Every year I’m amazed by the leadership, dedication, and skill our members demonstrate in building new solutions and connections for the JAG program. And this year is no different. Our members have delivered a true “master class” on how to bring JAG to life in their communities. Congratulations to each and every partner” says Ken Smith, President and CEO, Jobs for America’s Graduates.

The selection committee had their work cut out for them. They first chose finalist in the following categories: National Government Leader of the Year, National Government Leadership Award, National Network Leadership Award, National Workforce Development Award, National Above and Beyond Award, National Educational Leadership Award, and Leadership in the Pandemic Award. Then they had the extremely difficult task of selecting 11 winners from that list of finalists.

National Leadership Award Winners:

National Government Leader of the Year Governor Roy Cooper, North Carolina
National Government Leadership Award Representative Joe Tate, Michigan
National Government Leadership Award Representative Mary DuBuisson, Louisiana
National Network Leadership Award Phoenix College, Arizona
National Workforce Development Award Christine O. Wade, New Jersey
National Workforce Development Award Kaveida Allen, Nevada
National Above and Beyond Award First Lady Teresa Parson, Missouri
National Above and Beyond Award Turney “Toby” Singh Baba, New Jersey
National Educational Leadership Award Laura K. Scheibe, South Dakota
National Educational Leadership Award Dr. Lisa Remy, Iowa
Leadership in the Pandemic Award Valley of the Sun United Way, Arizona