Congratulations 2018 Smith Scholars!

by | Apr 23, 2018 | Uncategorized | 0 comments

Twenty (20) JAG graduates were selected to receive a $1,000 scholarship and, more importantly, they will be able to use the designation as having been vetted and recognized as a 2018 Smith Scholar.  This high honor should be included in your resume or when applications request a listing of awards, scholarships, or recognitions.  Only 20 JAG graduates in the Class of 2018 will be able to use the Smith Scholar designation.  

The Kenneth M. Smith Scholarship Fund and the Smith Scholars Program were established by the JAG Board of Directors to recognize the extraordinary leadership and service of the first and only President and Chief Executive Officer of Jobs for America’s Graduates, Inc., Kenneth M. Smith.  The number of scholarships awarded annually is dependent on the donations to the Ken Smith Scholarship Fund.  Funding for the KMS Scholarship Fund has come from JAG Board members as well as Western Union Foundation, Lillian Goldman Trust, Strategic Partnerships and CERI.  From 2009-2018, the Fund has awarded 154 scholarships for a total of $165,000.

2018 Kenneth M. Smith Application Packet Submissions

131 JAG seniors submitted Kenneth M. Smith Scholarship Application Packets on February 20 which consisted of the following documents:

  • Application Form
  • Resume (2 Pages)
  • Essay (2 Pages)
  • High School Transcript
  • Proof of College Application or Acceptance
  • Three Reference Letters
  • High Resolution Photo


Applications were received from 20 JAG state affiliates:  AR, AZ, GA, IA, IN, IA, KS, KY, LA, ME, MI, MS, MO, MT, NV, OH, SC, SD, VA, US-VI

The number one career field wasHealth.

2018 Review and Selection Process:

  • 2018 proved to be one of the most difficult years to review the 131 application packets, assign points, then, make the decision as to which applicants moved forward to be among the Top 40 Applicants. 
  • Two board members were responsible for reviewing the Top 40 Application Packets and selecting the Top 25 Applicants.  
  • Two additional board members reviewed the Top 25 Application Packets and ultimately selected the final twenty (20) Smith Scholars. 
  • 2018 Smith Scholars will receive a letter of congratulations from JAG Governance Committee Chairman Larry Caruso with information regarding receipt of their $1,000 scholarship.  The letter will also outline responsibilities that Smith Scholars are expected to fulfill during their 2018-2019 collegiate enrollment.  This commitment is very important to maintain and expand the Smith Scholars Program.
  • The Kenneth M. Scholarship Fund appreciates the 131 applicants that submitted documentation for 2018.  Remember—JAG graduates that have not completed their postsecondary degree plans are eligible to apply for a KMS Scholarship as well as high school seniors that are planning to enroll in the fall following graduation. 


The 2018 Smith Scholars receiving a $1,000 scholarship are:

  • Mary Frances Avera – LA
  • Jon’na Bailey – MS
  • Brittany Brusven – MT
  • Haylie Burns – MO
  • Jailah Carter – IN
  • Tykasia Davis – VA
  • Mariah Grider – IN
  • Apollo Grondin – ME
  • Ashtyn Gwatney – AR
  • Korey Hanson – KY
  • Tiffany Horton – GA
  • Caitlyn Hyatt – OH
  • Chad Jones – LA
  • Karra Lohr – MT
  • Madison Mills – ME
  • Kyle Pernell – MS
  • Tasha Reeve – MT
  • Alexis Robison – MT
  • Adeanna Thomas – AR
  • Anna Wright – AR


Best wishes in pursuit of your postsecondary/collegiate degree or certification program in your career field!